Pipeline

Pipeline

The screening process used by VALBIOTIS has enabled us to identify 5 plant extracts (which been proven to have a major synergistic effect when combined). This combination was then developed to perfection, resulting in the active ingredient called TOTUM-63. Several pre-clinical studies have proven its efficacy against different risk factors for type 2 diabetes.

A Phase I/II clinical study made it possible to objectify its safety and provide an initial proof of concept of its efficacy on the metabolism of carbohydrates and insulin. Based on these conclusive results, Phase II studies can be conducted directly for every product containing this active ingredient.

VALBIOTIS is now developing three products made with the active ingredient TOTUM-63:

  • Valedia® is the most advanced of the three. Currently undergoing Phase II of clinical development and has been proven to have several beneficial effects on several risk factors for type 2 diabetes. Valedia® is a world premiere for over 527 million pre-diabetics in the world;
  • VAL-63 NAFLD acts effectively against serum and hepatic triglycerides (preclinical data). NASH (non-alcoholic steatohepatitis) is the progressive form of NAFLD (non-alcoholic fatty liver disease). NAFLD can be considered to be a risk condition for developing NASH;
  • VAL-630 is a medical nutrition product (Food for Special Medical Purposes) that provides nutritional support for patients with NASH and can also be suitable for patients with type 2 diabetes.

Two other products are also under clinical development:

  • Lipidrive®, which regulates body weight by acting specifically on body fat mass;
  • VAL-070 which is designed to reduce LDL cholesterol, a risk factor for cardiovascular disease.

VALBIOTIS therefore benefits from a mature pipeline with 5 products, which are all undergoing clinical development.

Reasearch programs

An initial research program targets the identification of the effects of TOTUM-63, Valedia® and Lipidrive® on the intestinal microbiota, a serious avenue of research into these products’ mechanism of action.

A second research program, VAL-63000 is aimed at fractionating and purifying molecules of interest made from TOTUM-63. This program could result in the identification of new-generation innovative candidates for the prevention and treatment of certain cardiometabolic diseases.

Pipeline

Pipeline

Les travaux de criblage menés par VALBIOTIS ont permis d’identifier cinq extraits végétaux, dont l’association a démontré un effet synergique très important (l’impact de la combinaison est supérieur à la somme des impacts individuels). Cette combinaison a ensuite été perfectionnée pour aboutir au principe actif « TOTUM-63 ». De nombreux travaux précliniques ont démontré son efficacité sur plusieurs facteurs de risque du diabète de type 2.

Une étude clinique de Phase I/II a permis d’objectiver sa sécurité et d’apporter une première preuve de concept de son efficacité sur le métabolisme des glucides et de l’insuline. Fort de ces résultats concluants, des études de Phase II pourront être menées directement pour chacun des produits intégrant ce même principe actif.

VALBIOTIS développe à ce jour trois produits fondés sur le principe actif TOTUM-63 :
• Valedia®, le produit le plus avancé. Actuellement en Phase II de développement clinique, Valedia® constitue une première mondiale pour plus de 527 millions de pré-diabétiques dans le monde ;
• VAL-63 NAFLD, agissant efficacement sur les triglycérides sériques et hépatiques (données précliniques). La NASH (stéatohépatite non alcoolique) est la forme progressive de la NAFLD ou stéatose hépatique non-alcoolique. La NAFLD peut être considérée comme un état à risque de développer une NASH ;
• VAL-630, un produit de nutrition médicale (Aliment Diététique Destiné à des Fins Médicales Spéciales) destiné à l’accompagnement nutritionnel des patients atteints d’une NASH et pouvant convenir aux patients diabétiques de type 2.

Deux autres produits sont par ailleurs en cours de développement clinique :
• Lipidrive® pour la régulation du poids corporel à travers un effet spécifique sur la masse grasse ;
• VAL-070 destiné à la diminution du LDL cholestérol, un facteur de risque des maladies cardio-vasculaires.

VALBIOTIS bénéficie donc d’un pipeline mature avec 5 produits, tous en cours de développement clinique.

 

Programmes de recherche

Un premier programme de recherche vise l’identification des effets de TOTUM-63, de Valedia® et de Lipidrive® sur le microbiote intestinal, piste sérieuse de mécanisme d’action de ces produits.

Un second programme de recherche, VAL-63000, a pour objectif de fractionner et purifier des molécules d’intérêt issues de TOTUM-63. Ce programme pourrait aboutir à l’identification de candidats innovants de nouvelle génération pour la prévention et le traitement de certaines maladies cardio-métaboliques.